Teen Voices 101

35

 

“The best way to not feel hopeless is to get up and do something. Don’t wait for good things to happen to you. If you go out and make some good things happen, you will fill the world with hope, you will fill yourself with hope.” 
― Barack Obama

Personally, I believe in the miracle of helping others. I’m the type of person that is a believer in placing myself second for the ones who are less fortunate than I am. I’ve been though a lot; everyone has.

Every time I feel like I can successfully help a person in need, my whole world brightens up. Teen Voice 101 is an organization to help other teens out with their daily stressful lives. We’d try to do whatever it takes to take the weight off their shoulders. Sometimes, life can be extremely stressful; we know. For example, I have a friend, let’s say her name is Sally. As a typical teenager, Sally wasn’t confident at all about her appearances because she wasn’t content with her body and the way she looked. She wasn’t necessarily what we call “Beautiful” as we see models on the magazines. Everyday, Sally would come home depressed and crying. She would develop eating disorders

In the beginning of this process, we started off trying to create a safe haven for teens to share their stories, as a site for venting via Tumblr. However, unfortunately we haven’t received many submissions because some people might not be too comfortable sharing their personal life to the public. As that was faced, we deviated from our original mission and looked on wards on the positive aspect of helping. We created a contemplation of motivational quotes to help boost one’s day. We thought making it out of work, thought, and effort would make the booklet more meaningful. Heather, Gina and I worked on this together. Gina, the head technician, gathered up all the quotes. Heather, who is the idea creator, helped me, the crafty designer cut and glue this booklet together. We assigned a date to meet up in the library together and worked on this as a team. 77 Overall, I thought that creating this is so much fun. I got more out of it than I expected and it taught me that working as a team for a cause can really bring out an inner joy inside me. I will plan to continue making these and giving it to someone whom I feel is in need.

Leave a Reply

