ReFramed: What’s Life Without Humor?

15

life…
līf
noun
1. the condition that distinguishes animals and plants from inorganic matter, including the capacity for growth, reproduction, functional activity, and continual change preceding death.
What’s the meaning of life without joyous humor? Do rocks smile? Of course not.That’s because they don’t have life. They’re an inanimate object that cannot function or mobilize with feelings and emotions. Us human beings laugh all the time because it makes us feel good about ourselves. It’s the spark that ignites our inner flame.
“I love people who make me laugh. I honestly think it’s the thing I like most, to laugh. It cures a multitude of ills. It’s probably the most important thing in a person.”
― Audrey Hepburn
Humor comes in many forms. Whether it’s the kind that just makes us giggle or the kind that makes our stomach explode like a balloon. That’s a great feeling.
Comedic movies are my favorite because it makes me feel happy and joyous. I’m usually sad and stressed all the time because of school. Instead of resorting to isolating myself in the four walls of my room, there’s many other things that I can do, like watching something funny on YouTube. My personal favorite that always tickle my funny bone is iJustine’s YouTube channel. This video of her making ketchup cookies follows the golden rule of humor:
You can’t be mean and funny at the same time

Justine makes a fool of herself because she absolutely cannot bake. Her personal motto is
“I ain’t about that measuring life.”
LOL right? I find it hilarious. The way that she embarrass herself is okay because she purposely makes herself look like a fool and it’s okay to laugh at her because she wants us to. It isn’t mean to laugh at her because she isn’t going to be offended.
Sometimes, being mean is funny. It’s only funny to you or maybe other people but it definitely isn’t funny to the person being offended. It’s actually hurtful and there’s nothing funny about hurting others unless you’re some psychopath maniac. Like saying “LOL YOUR NOSE IS SO BIG IT LOOKS LIKE A BULL’S NOSE!!!” might be hilarious to you, but the person being made fun of can seriously go into anxiety, depression and self-hatred. Who knows, they might end if self-harming themselves and it’s all because of you. It’s you that killed them and you will have to live the rest of your life knowing that.
In class, we learned about humor. There’s many things that causes humor like Exaggeration, Irony, Embarrassment, ignorance… and the list goes on. We watched Galaxy Quest. I know, I know what you’re thinking. “Ew that movie is so old and sci-fi. SOOoooOOoo not into that kind of stuff.” I felt the exact same way. At first I was like “Oh my goodness what am I watching. What am I doing with my life watching Star Wars or whatever in my English class.” But then I was like “Whoa…..”
22
This movie actually IS a great movie and it teaches us many values and different forms of humor  that they used. It opened up my horizons and I never thought I would enjoy it, but I did. I learned so many different forms of humor through watching this and I recommend everyone to watch it.
Humor and laughter is the basis of life. What’s beauty without joy? Add some fun into life because you only get to live once.
2 thoughts on “ReFramed: What’s Life Without Humor?

  1. Pingback: He’s King of the Ogres Them Ragamuffins! Star Plus’s Mahabarat 2013 | lovelyseasonscomeandgo

Leave a Reply

