ReFramed: The World is Yours… Keep Your Eyes Open

13

Eyes are given to us for a reason. Eyes are created to see the life that wonders among us. It’s normal that sometimes we feel isolated. Sometimes we feel as if there’s no hope anymore and we just want to lock ourselves in our rooms, reminiscing about our past. There’s many things we do that we regret and take back. Don’t we always wish that there was a time machine or a remote that winds us back to our mistakes. Mistakes need to be fixed and sometimes, it’s too late. The words by the famous YouTuber, Tyler Oakley is surprisingly true and it opened my eyes humorously to reality.

“DON’T… You know what’ I’m talking about it. It’s not productive. You know it’s not productive. Nobody likes it when you do it. You probably don’t like it when you do it either… Jesus did not die on the cross for this.”

HAHAHa! Here’s the full version. It contains inappropriate foul language, so beware!! (watch at your own risk/comfort).  I felt that what he was trying to express was true and it’s one of my New Year’s Resolutions to change myself into a better person.

I feel that way all the time. Things that I did to my friends, things that I do to myself. I take it back. I just need to learn to control myself and not be the person I don’t want to me.  Life is all about self control. Once you get the hang of it, everything is just a cruise. Bad habits are always a pain. Cravings or addict can be the worst. Just find something better to do. Just find your natural high. Whether it’s a sport, whether it’s some kind of art… Just find a hobby. Trust me, things will get better.

It’s all about opening your locked up doors and taking the first step outside. The world is ahead of us. It’s a big place with lots of things to do. Why waste your 365(x) days locked up and reserved. Be wild; Be free. Soar like the birds because nothing can stop you.

In class, we are reading Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens. Dr. Mannete has been locked up and buried underground for eight whole years. He then needs to decide whether or not to gather up his confidence to go outside into the real world. Things have changed and it’s a struggle, but it’s worth it. 

“I see a beautiful city and a brilliant people rising from this abyss. I see the lives for which I lay down my life, peaceful, useful, prosperous and happy. I see that I hold a sanctuary in their hearts, and in the hearts of their descendants, generations hence. It is a far, far better thing that I do, than I have ever done; it is a far, far better rest that I go to than I have ever known.”

I thought this was a great and bright concept to know because I used to be the person that would stay in my room and stare at the four walls around me. Now I have a motivation. Creativity is my motivation. It’s a great big world out there… Just be brave.

Leave a Reply

