ReFramed: Maybe it’s Symbolism

5

In life, there are always little hints that your fate gives you during your day. There’s always a sign to tell you, “Oh, this and that happened. Maybe it’s my lucky day!” Like for example, you found a penny faced up while walking on the sidewalk. Maybe that can forecast your fortunate future. They call them “signs of good luck” for a reason. Some people might believe in good luck charms and others might view it as mere foolishness.

For me, I see everything that everything that happens in my life happens for a reason. I’m a firm believer in cause and effect. Like:
Effect: “Why did I do bad on the test?”
Cause: “Maybe I didn’t study hard enough.”

Effect: “Why did my mom yell at me for no reason?”
Cause: “There is a reason. Maybe it’s just one of her days when she’s irritated.”

Effect: “Why didn’t I get any points for homework?”
Cause: “Maybe because I simply didn’t do it.”

One thing leads to another and it’s important to trace it to the origin. A lot of things in life that is a symbol for another thing. For example, how you dress is a symbol of your personality. What enjoy doing is a symbol of what you’re like. I used to like knitting and making cards. It shows that I am a crafty person and that I’m good with my hands. We all have individual personalities that are unique and different. We, together, are a symbol of life on earth.

Here’s a silly saying by my older sister that I enjoy and to this day, I still believe.

“When a bird decides to leave its ‘feces’ on you, it doesn’t mean that you’re unlucky. It actually means that you’re lucky because you’re the one millionth in the crowd that it gets to land on.”

This shows that the worst events that happens in your life can actually be a good thing depending on perspective.

In the book “A Tale of Two Cities,” Chapter 1, The Period shows a great amount of symbolism.

“IT WAS the best of times, it was the worst of times, it was the age of wisdom, it was the age of foolishness, it was the epoch of belief, it was the epoch of incredulity, it was the season of Light, it was the season of Darkness, it was the spring of hope, it was the winter of despair, we had everything before us, we had nothing before us, we were all going direct to heaven, we were all going direct the other way – in short, the period was so far like the present period, that some of its noisiest authorities insisted on its being received, for good or for evil, in the superlative degree of comparison only.”

Now to begin with, the words “IT WAS” was all capitalized. What’s the reason? My interpretation of it is that its TWO words that are both capitalized. I related it to “A Tale of TWO Cities.” Also, everything begins with happiness, then leads to evil, which might indicate that something disastrous is going to happen. Now of course, there are more different types of symbolism that Dickens wrote but those are just a few. 

It’s important to know and understand the symbols that fly by throughout your life and it’s crucial to identify them and relate them to your life. Not everything bad that happens is unlucky. Be optimistic and enjoy everything that life has to offer! 🙂

Leave a Reply

